Quinoa Salad – it tastes like summer, or Christmas, or a summery Christmas!

Quinoa SaladWhen I got this recipe from my supplier of the Maison Therese products, it really piqued my interest.  Although I love all food, I (currently 🙂 ) have a special interest in healthier food – and healthier food that I might just get my little people to eat.

My eldest daughter loves cous cous – not cous cous cooked in stock or cous cous with anything in it – just plain cous cous.  I quite fancy being able to substitute quinoa for cous cous and so, when the school holiday shenanigans this week called for us to have dinner at my sister’s house I thought I would make this recipe for the wider group to share. As suggested we had it with fish and salad – the “grownups” had a whole parrotfish oven baked with fresh garlic butter and the kids had crumbed and baked swordfish fillets.  The salad came almost entirely from my sister’s abundant veggie patch – I am in awe of her ability to keep her vegetable garden tended and productive despite her life being unbelievably busy.

We did two versions of the quinoa – one for the smaller children with just the vegetables stirred through and the full recipe for adults and older kids.

I am in love with this salad.  My sister too is pretty keen on it.  Our men, who, it has to be said, do not really share our interest in food, did not love it so much.  I think it comes down to whether or not you love that sweet spiced vinegar flavour that is hallmark of gherkins and bread and butter pickles.

I will be making this salad at Christmas.  I love the crunchy fresh zing that the pickles and celery give it – I love that it made me feel like it was holidays.

Quinoa Salad – recipe courtesy of Maison Therese

1½ cups of dried quinoa
3 cups of water
1 (340ml) jar of Maison Therese Bread and Butter Pickle
2 to 3 stalks of celery (chopped)
1 apple (peeled and chopped)
1 red capsicum (chopped)
2 handfuls of raisins or sultanas
A handful of fresh herbs – parsley, mint, coriander etc
A good glug of Maison Therese Madras Splash

Place the quinoa in the cold water. Bring to the boil. Simmer for 5 minutes with the lid off, dice the Bread and Butter Pickle and add this, with all other ingredients, to the quinoa. Mix well. Stir through the fresh chopped herbs. Garnish as desired. Keep in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

