We call them “Little Balls of Yum”

LittleBallsOfYumMy family is in a sort of holding pattern at the moment – but in a nice way. My eldest child begins school next year and so the next few months are the last we will ever have where, if we wish we can exist wholly within our little family cocoon. It is a time that I wish to freeze (so much so that I get teary every time I think about it, or so much as think about thinking about it!). I’m in this strange mental place where I am trying to squeeze every last special moment I can out of this time and somehow already mourning the loss – wondering sadly how my little baby girl got to be so big and whether I really appreciated and fully enjoyed those short early years…
In this light, the privilege of a day each week where I don’t work and the kids don’t gave any activities takes on even more of a special glow. I knew it would be important – that’s why I planned things this way this year – but I still wonder ad nauseum whether I’ve really lived and nurtured these last months as best I could…
Tuesday is our day. Our day to play, paint, create, sort, find, adventure… our day to just be together. And so it seemed fitting that we should try to make something just for the kids on Tuesday. There is only one name we could give the scrumptious little balls that we created (and of which I only managed to get one!) – they are, indeed, little balls of yum!

I have taken much inspiration from Wholefood Simply in this – both from Bianca’s Jersey Caramels and her Caramel Fudge. I had only a small quantity of macadamias on hand and so made a relatively small batch – however given none of them made it beyond being rolled in coconut (I wanted to freeze or refrigerate some and see how they were colder and harder) – perhaps only making small batches is an important trick for portion control…

LITTLE BALLS OF YUM

1 cup firmly packed medjool dates, seeds removed

1 cup macadamias

1 cup dessicated coconut

1 teaspoon vanilla (I used our Equagold Tahitian Vanilla Extract)

Blend until smooth, roll into balls, roll in coconut, refrigerate or freeze.

Leave a Reply

